Jump to the beginning of content

border image

The Rights of the Individual

border image
Content here

Equal Opportunities

The Government is firmly committed to promoting equal opportunities for all and eliminating all forms of discrimination. We have-as appropriate-adopted various legislative, administrative, and/or educational measures to promote equal opportunities for people of different gender, family status, sexual orientation and race. The Equal Opportunities Commission, which is an independent statutory body established in 1996 under the Sex Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 480), is responsible for overseeing the implementation of the anti-discrimination ordinances.

Sex and Family Status

The Sex Discrimination Ordinance and the Family Status Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 527) came into force in 1996 and 1997 respectively to prohibit discrimination on the grounds of sex and family status.

Sexual Orientation

We promote equal opportunities on grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity through various publicity and educational measures. These include, among others, the Equal Opportunities (Sexual Orientation) Funding Scheme which provides funding support to worthwhile community projects that promote equal opportunities on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, or provide support services for the sexual minorities; promulgation of the Code of Practice against Discrimination in Employment on the Ground of Sexual Orientation; maintenance of a hotline for enquiries and complaints on issues relating to sexual orientation and gender identity; and release of promotional videos on equal opportunities for people of different sexual orientation and transgender persons.

In June 2013, the Advisory Group on Eliminating Discrimination against Sexual Minorities was established to advise the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs on matters relating to concerns about discrimination faced by sexual minorities in Hong Kong, notably the aspects and extent of discrimination faced by sexual minorities in Hong Kong, and the strategies and measures to tackle the problems identified with a view to eliminating discrimination and nurturing a culture of diversity, tolerance and mutual respect in the community. The Advisory Group has completed its work and submitted its report to the Government in December 2015.

Race

The Government is committed to encouraging integration of the ethnic minorities into the community whilst preserving their cultural characteristics.

Race Discrimination Ordinance

The Race Discrimination Ordinance was passed by the Legislative Council on July 2008. The Ordinance has come into full operation in 2009. The Equal Opportunities Commission is responsible for the implementation of the Ordinance.

Administrative Guidelines on Promotion of Racial Equality

The Administrative Guidelines on Promotion of Racial Equality provide guidance to relevant Bureaux and Departments and public authorities to promote racial equality and ensure equal access to public services in key areas concerned. Under the Guidelines, relevant Bureaux, Departments and public authorities have drawn up checklists of measures that would assist in promoting racial equality and equal access to key public services to enhance the transparency of their work. The Guidelines cover the key public services which are particularly relevant to meeting the special needs of ethnic minorities and facilitating their integration into the community, namely, medical, education, vocational training, employment and major community services.

Support Services for Ethnic Minorities

The Race Relations Unit of the Home Affairs Department provides a number of support services for ethnic minorities to facilitate their integration into society and access to public services, in collaboration with non-government organisations and district organisations. The Home Affairs Department convenes the Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony which advises Government on issues concerning ethnic minorities, and the Ethnic Minorities Forum which provides a platform for ethnic minorities and groups representing them to exchange views with the Government.

跳至內容的開始

border image

個人權利

border image
Content here

平等機會

政府致力促進平等機會,以及消除一切形式的歧視。多年來,我們推行了多項立法、行政以及/或教育措施,務使每個人,不論性別、家庭崗位、性傾向、種族,都能享有平等機會。政府於一九九六年根據《性別歧視條例》(第480章)成立一個獨立的法定機構-平等機會委員會,以監察反歧視條例的實施情況。

性別及家庭崗位

為禁止基於性別和家庭崗位理由的歧視行為,政府分別於一九九六年和一九九七年實施了《性別歧視條例》和《家庭崗位歧視條例》(第527章)。

性傾向

我們透過宣傳及教育,推廣不同性傾向人士及跨性別人士應享有平等機會的信息。相關措施包括設立平等機會(性傾向)資助計劃,資助有意義的社區活動項目,藉以促進不同性傾向人士或跨性別人士享有平等機會,或為性小眾提供支援服務;推廣消除性傾向歧視僱傭實務守則;提供熱線處理有關性傾向和性別認同事宜的查詢及投訴;以及推出有關不同性傾向人士及跨性別人士應享有平等機會的宣傳短片

消除歧視性小眾諮詢小組於二零一三年六月成立,就性小眾被歧視的關注及相關事宜向政制及內地事務局局長提供意見,特別是性小眾在香港受歧視的範疇及嚴重性,以及消除這些歧視的策略及措施,以期在社會上建立多元、包容及互相尊重的文化。諮詢小組已完成工作,並於2015年12月向政府提交了報告

種族

政府致力鼓勵少數族裔人士融入社會,並同時保留他們的文化特色。

種族歧視條例

種族歧視條例》在二零零八年七月獲立法會通過。條例在二零零九年全面實施。平等機會委員會負責實施這項條例。

促進種族平等行政指引

促進種族平等行政指引旨在為有關的政策局、部門及公共主管當局提供指導,以在主要範疇促進種族平等和確保公眾有平等機會獲得公共服務。根據指引,有關的政策局、部門及公共主管當局擬訂載列促進種族平等及平等機會使用主要公共服務的措施清單,以提高其在這方面工作的透明度。指引涵蓋與照顧少數族裔人士的特別需要和協助他們融入社會特別相關的主要公共服務,即醫療、教育、職業訓練、就業及主要社區服務。

少數族裔支援服務

民政事務總署的種族關係組與非政府機構及地區組織合作,為少數族裔人士提供多項支援服務,協助他們融入社會和獲取公共服務。在民政事務總署下設立的促進種族和諧委員會,負責就有關少數族裔的事宜向政府提供意見。該署並召開少數族裔人士論壇,為少數族裔人士及代表他們的組織提供一個與政府交流意見的平台。