Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
2002 Election Committee Subsector By-elections Successfully Concluded

The 2002 Election Committee (EC) subsector by-elections held today (January 6) to return three members to fill vacancies on the EC was successfully concluded, a government spokesman said. The vacancies arose due to the death or resignation of EC members.

"We warmly congratulate the three candidates who get elected in the by-elections," he said.

The three winning candidates are Mr Ronny Tong Ka-wah of the Legal subsector, Mr Yuen Wai-keung of the Finance subsector, and Mr Lam Wai-keung of the Heung Yee Kuk subsector.

Mr Edward Ho Sing-tin, the only validly nominated candidate of the Architectural, Surveying and Planning subsector, has been elected uncontested.

These four EC members together with the remaining members will be responsible for electing the second term Chief Executive (CE).

"Our task ahead is to put in place the necessary arrangements to ensure the smooth conduct of the CE election scheduled for March 24, 2002," the spokesman said.

Nomination for the CE election will run from February 15 to 28, 2002.

End/Sunday, January 6, 2002