Jump to the beginning of content

border image

The Rights of the Individual

border image
Content here

Protection of Personal Data

Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance

The Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance aims to protect the individual's right to privacy with respect to personal data. It gives statutory effect to internationally-recognised data protection principles and provides for the establishment of an independent statutory authority - the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data (the Privacy Commissioner) - to enforce and promote compliance with them.

The Ordinance applies to any data relating directly or indirectly to an individual, from which it is practicable to ascertain the identity of the individual and which is in a form in which access to or processing is practicable. Users of personal data in both public and private sectors are subject to the provisions of the Ordinance.

The main features of the Ordinance are as follows -

  • It establishes an independent statutory authority - the Privacy Commissioner - to promote and enforce compliance with the Ordinance.

  • It gives statutory effect to internationally-accepted data protection principles, which provide for the fair collection of personal data; accuracy of personal data; duration for retention of personal data; limits on the use of personal data; security of personal data; openness by data users about the kinds of personal data they hold and purposes to which they are put; as well as data subjects' rights of access and correction with respect to their personal data.

  • It regulates the use of personal data in direct marketing and the provision of personal data for use in direct marketing.

  • It provides for offences against the disclosure of personal data obtained without consent from data users.

  • It gives the Privacy Commissioner powers to approve and issue codes of practice giving guidance on compliance with the Ordinance; inspect personal data systems and investigate suspected breaches of the requirements under the Ordinance.

  • It subjects the automated comparison of personal data to suitable control to protect the privacy interests of data subjects.

  • It provides for a broad exemption for personal data held for domestic purposes and narrowly defined exemptions from the requirements on subject access and use limitation to cater for a variety of competing public and social interests, such as human resources management; security, defence and international relations; the prevention and detection of crime; the assessment or collection of taxes; financial regulation; an individual's physical or mental health; news gathering and reporting, legal proceedings, due diligence exercise, and emergency situations.

  • It gives the Privacy Commissioner power to provide legal assistance to an aggrieved data subject who intends to institute legal proceedings against a data user.

The Ordinance was amended in mid 2012 and all the amended provisions have already come into operation. If you wish to view the promotional video on the new requirements in relation to direct marketing, you may click this link - TV announcements. Relevant information is also available at the website of the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data.

Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee (The Committee)

Section 11 of the Ordinance provides for the establishment of a Committee to advise the Privacy Commissioner on matters relevant to the privacy of individuals in relation to personal data and the operation of the Ordinance.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Chairman :

Privacy Commissioner

Members : Ms Cordelia Chung
Mr Billy Hung Hing-chuen
Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah, BBS, MH, JP
Mr Stephen Loh Chan
Ms Shen Shuk-ching
Mr David Wan Chuck-fan
Ms Winnie Yeung Cheung-wah
Deputy Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or
Principal Assistant Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs

跳至內容的開始

border image

個人權利

border image
Content here

保障個人資料

《個人資料(私隱)條例》

《個人資料(私隱)條例》旨在保障有關個人資料方面的私隱。條例賦予國際認可的保障資料原則法定效力,並設立一個獨立的法定機構 — 個人資料私隱專員(下稱私隱專員),以負責條例的執行工作和促使各界人士遵守條例的規定。

條例適用於任何直接或間接與個人有關、可切實用以確定那個人的身分,而其存在形式令查閱和處理均是切實可行的資料。不論公營部門或私營機構的個人資料使用者,都必須遵守條例的規定。

條例的主要特色如下:-

  • 條例設立一個獨立的法定機構 — 私隱專員,以負責條例的執行工作和促使各界人士遵守條例的規定。

  • 條例賦予國際認可的保障資料原則法定效力。有關原則規定以公平方式收集個人資料;個人資料的準確性;個人資料的保留期間;限制個人資料的使用;個人資料的保安;資料使用者必須向資料當事人公開持有甚麼類別的個人資料和該等資料會作甚麼用途;以及資料當事人查閱和改正其個人資料的權利。

  • 條例規管在直接促銷中使用個人資料及提供個人資料以供用於直接促銷。

  • 條例將「起底」行為訂為刑事罪行, 以及賦予個人資料私隱專員(專員)法定權力發出停止披露通知,要求停止或限制披露涉及「起底」內容。 條例同時賦予專員權力就「起底」相關個案進行刑事調查和檢控。

  • 條例授權私隱專員核准及發出實務守則,就如何遵守條例的條文提供指引、視察個人資料系統,以及調查涉嫌違反條例規定的個案。

  • 條例對以自動化方法比較個人資料施加適當規管,以保障資料當事人的私隱。

  • 條例就一些為家居用途而持有的個人資料訂定一般豁免,並就資料當事人查閱其個人資料及限制使用個人資料規定方面訂定特定應用範圍的豁免,以照顧各種與私隱權益有衝突的公眾或社會利益,例如人力資源管理;保安、防衛和國際關係;罪行的防止或偵查;稅項的評定或收取;財經規管;個人的身體或精神健康;搜集和報道新聞;法律程序;盡職審查;及危急處境。

  • 條例授權私隱專員為有意向資料使用者提出法律訴訟的受屈資料當事人提供法律協助。

條例於2021年獲修訂,以打撃「起底」行為。相關修訂條文已經生效。如你欲觀看相關宣傳短片,你可按此 - 短片個人資料私隱專員公署網站亦有提供其他相關資訊。

個人資料(私隱) 諮詢委員會(委員會)

條例第11條規定設立一個委員會,就任何與個人資料私隱和與條例施行有關的事宜,向私隱專員提供意見。

委員會的成員名單如下:

主席 個人資料私隱專員
委員 歐陽嘉慧女士
陳嘉賢女士, JP
趙質山先生
簡慧敏女士
連浩民先生
黃偉雄先生, MH, JP
楊逸芝女士
政制及內地事務局副秘書長或首席助理秘書長