Jump to the beginning of content

border image

The Rights of the Individual

border image
Content here
COMMITTEE ON THE RIGHTS OF THE CHILD
Thirteenth session

CONSIDERATION OF REPORTS SUBMITTED BY STATES PARTIES
UNDER ARTICLE 44 OF THE CONVENTION

Concluding observations of the Committee on the Rights of the Child: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland : Dependent Territories

Hong Kong


1. The Committee considered the initial report of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: Dependent Territories (Hong Kong)(CRC/C/11/Add.9)at its 329th to 331st meetings held on 2 and 3 October 1996 (see CCR/C/SR.329-331) and, at its 343rd meeting, held on 11 October 1996, adopted the following observations.

Table of Contents


Introduction

2.The Committee expresses its appreciation to the State party for the timely submission of both its report and written responses to the Committee's list of issues. The Committee welcomes the information provided by the delegation in its introductory statement and for the cooperative spirit which characterized the dialogue in the Committee.

3.The Committee notes the special situation facing Hong Kong as a territory over which there will be a change of sovereignty when it reverts to the People's Republic of China on 1 July 1997. The Committee also notes that matters relating to the continued application of the Convention to Hong Kong, including reporting arrangements, are the subject of discussion between the Government of the United Kingdom and the Government of China through the Joint Liaison Group.


Positive aspects

4.Note is taken of the enactment of the Parent and Child Ordinance in 1993 which removes legal disadvantages that previously applied to illegitimate children. The Committee also welcomes the adoption of the Disability Discrimination Ordinance aimed at promoting the integration of persons with a disability into the community.

5.The Committee welcomes the various measures being taken by the Government to address the danger of guardians leaving children unattended at home.

6.Information provided on the operation by the Social Welfare Department of a telephone hotline to receive, inter alia, reports on child abuse cases is noted with appreciation. The Committee also takes note of the measures taken to promote awareness of common adolescent health problems and the telephone hotline service of the Central Health Education Unit of the Department of Health, which has been set up to deal with calls relating to this issue. The recruitment of secondary school students as Health Ambassadors in training programmes on common adolescent health matters is also noted with great interest. Equally, the launching of the new Student Health Service, a programme designed to cater for the health needs of schoolchildren aged between 6 and 18, is warmly welcomed, as is the establishment of the Health Care and Promotion Fund, which is designed to step up efforts for health promotion and disease prevention.

7.The Committee notes with appreciation the initiatives taken to make hospitals more baby and child friendly, including the measures being taken to improve pediatric ward facilities in hospitals and also to provide play areas for children in pediatric wards and areas for parents to stay with their children in hospital. The Committee also welcomes the improvements to the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme, particularly with respect to benefits available in implementation of articles 26 and 27 of the Convention.

8.The Committee welcomes the information presented by the delegation concerning the five research projects on children's rights currently being undertaken by universities and funded by the Government.

9.The Committee encourages the establishment of an independent body to consider complaints against the police in Hong Kong.


Principal subjects of concern

10.With the extension of the Convention to Hong Kong in September 1994 further reservations to the Convention applicable to the territory of Hong Kong were deposited by the Government of the United Kingdom. It is a matter of regret to the Committee that the State party has not yet decided to withdraw its reservations, particularly as they relate to the issues of working hours for children, of juvenile justice and of refugees.

11.The Committee welcomes the adoption of the Bill of Human Rights Ordinance, it notes however, that this Bill is unentrenched. The Committee, while acknowledging that the Bill contains provisions recognizing the two major human rights Covenants, the articles of which also apply to children, considers it regrettable that the Bill contains no specific reference to the Convention on the Rights of the Children. In the light of this, and given the positive steps taken by the Government to adopt the Equal Opportunities Act and establish the Equal Opportunities Commission, it is also a matter of regret to the Committee that a similar strategy as pursued for gender equality has not been adopted for the rights of the child. In view of the Government's commitments to review legislation and policy regularly in the light of the principles and provisions of the Convention, the Committee is concerned that sufficient priority does not appear to have been given in the reviewing process to the possibility of establishing an independent monitoring body on the rights of the child and of pursuing an integrated and holistic approach to the adoption of legislation on the rights of the child.

12.While noting the positive steps taken to establish various mechanisms for the execution of policy and programme for the implementation of the provisions of the Convention, the Committee remains concerned about the adequacy of coordination activities between concerned governmental institutions to ensure that the rights of the child are given priority.

13.The Committee is concerned that insufficient measures have been taken to ensure the fullest implementation of the general principles of the Convention, in particular those contained in articles 3 and 12, especially in the choice, formulation and application of policy measures to promote and protect the rights of the child. In this regard it is noted that a system for integrating a child impact analysis into policy formulation and decision-making has not yet been put into place. It is also the view of the Committee that the persistence of certain attitudes relating to perception of the role children should play in the family, school and society may be delaying the full acceptance of the implementation of the provisions of article 12 and 13 of the Convention in Hong Kong.

14.As regards the situation of illegal immigrant children from China and the issues it raises with respect to the question of families split between Hong Kong and China, the Committee is concerned that the increase in permits arranged for these children and their families, from 105 to 150, is manifestly insufficient to meet the needs of the estimated 60,000 children currently in China who may have the right of abode in Hong Kong after 1 July 1997.

15.Despite the measures taken to address the problems of child abuse, neglect and the number of accidents affecting children, these issues continue to give cause for concern. Equally, adolescent mental health issues, including the problem of youth suicide, is a matter of serious concern to the Committee.

16.The Committee is concerned about the apparent insufficiency of measures to encourage breast-feeding. The Committee notes that powdered milk for babies continues to be freely distributed in hospitals, contrary to international guidelines on this matter. Equally, the extent to which the statutory provisions relating to, inter alia, maternity leave and conditions of employment for nursing mothers are compatible with the principles and provisions of the Convention remains a matter of concern to the Committee.

17.The Committee is of the view that insufficient attention appears to have been given to the implementation of article 29 of the Convention, particularly in respect of according human rights education the necessary status within school curricula.

18.The broad question of the treatment of Vietnamese children in detention centres in Hong Kong deeply concerns the Committee. It is the observation of the Committee that these children have been and continue to be the victim of a policy designed to discourage further refugees from coming into the area. While it is granted that the situation is a complex one, the policy of the continued detention of these children is incompatible with the Convention.

19.In addition, the Committee is of the view that the low age of criminal responsibility is not in conformity with the principles and provisions of the Convention and regrets the decision not to raise the age of criminal responsibility.


Suggestions and recommendations

20.The implementation of the principles and provisions of the Convention requires that priority be given to children's issues, particularly in the light of the principle of the "best interests of the child" and of the fact that Governments have, in international forums, agreed to the principle of "First call for children", including in the final document adopted by the World Conference on Human Rights. It is recommended, therefore, that in the formulation of policy options and proposals there should be an accompanying assessment of its impact on children so that decision makers can be better assess advised when formulating policy as to its effect on the rights of the child. It is also suggested that steps be taken to reflect and duly take into account in national legislation the holistic and comprehensive approach to the implementation of the rights of the child recommended by the Committee. The Committee recommends the establishment of an independent mechanism specifically to monitor the implementation of government policy in relation to the rights of the child. It is noted that an independent mechanism could also play an important role in informing the public and legislature of the action being taken for the rights of the child. The Committee also recommends that children's rights be fully integrated into the discussions on issues concerning the transfer of sovereignty over Hong Kong and be accorded high priority in the dialogue on these and related matters in the Joint Liaison Group.

21.The Committee encourages efforts to involve civil society and non-governmental organizations more closely in the monitoring and implementation of the Convention, including with respect to the development of a comprehensive strategy for children in Hong Kong.

22.As part of the ongoing efforts to promote and protect the rights of the child, particularly in relation to the implementation of article 4 of the Convention, the Committee recommends that a further assessment be undertaken of the effectiveness of the present system of institutional coordination of policies and programmes on the rights of the child, especially with regard to child abuse. Moreover, the Committee would like to suggest that the collection and analysis of statistical data by age group be guided by the provisions of article 1 of the Convention. The Committee further suggests that consideration be given to undertaking or encouraging research on the development and use of indicators to monitor the progress of the implementation of all the principles and provisions of the Convention.

23.In connection with the ongoing efforts to raise awareness of human rights and children's rights among the population of Hong Kong, the Committee suggests that consideration be given to taking further measures to inform the general public about the Convention on the Rights of the Child and to incorporate education about human rights and children's rights in training programmes for professionals. The Committee encourages the incorporation of questions on the awareness and understanding of the public of the Convention and its principles and provisions in future civic awareness surveys.

24.The Committee would like to suggest that further consideration be given to evaluating the effectiveness of measures to raise awareness for the prevention and combating of discrimination and promoting tolerance, particularly with respect to discrimination on the grounds of gender, ethnic origin, discrimination against disabled children and children born out of wedlock.

25.With respect to the implementation of article 12 of the Convention, the Committee encourages the undertaking of a study, from the perspective of children as bearers of rights, on the subject of children's participation in the family, school and society with a view to the formulation of recommendations on this matter.

26.The Committee recommends that further measures need to be taken to address the issue of illegal immigrant children from China, especially with respect to the difficulties arising from families split between Hong Kong and China. It is the Committee's view that, in the light of the best interests of the child, action should be taken on an urgent basis to reduce the waiting period for family reunification, to raise the quota of permits and to consider other measures to deal with the problems that will arise in the future.

27.The Committee wishes to acknowledge once again the important efforts taken to deal with the question of child abuse. Notwithstanding this, the Committee is of the view that the prevention of this violation of children's rights requires further attitudinal changes in society, not only as regards the non-acceptance of corporal punishment and physical and psychological abuse but also greater respect for the inherent dignity of the child.

28.Despite the recent increase in the number of social workers employed for child abuse cases, it is the view of the Committee that the case-load of each professional may still be too high and the question of taking additional action to address such matters deserves further study. The Committee encourages the efforts made to accord high priority to and pursue more intensely the establishment of day care centres in the community, including as a measure to prevent children being left unattended at home. In addition, the Committee encourages the initiative taken to ensure within future reviews of the Family Life Education Programme an assessment of its effectiveness in preventing child abuse.

29.With respect to improving the situation of disabled children, the Committee encourages the efforts being undertaken to integrate disabled children into regular schools, including through investment in structural changes to schools and support to the training of teachers to assist them in adjusting and adapting their teaching methods to the needs of disabled children.

30.The Committee recommends that a review be undertaken of the effectiveness of measures in place to support the policy of promoting and encouraging breast-feeding. It is recommended that the question of the free distribution of powdered milk for babies in hospitals, as well as the compatibility of conditions of employment with the obligation laid down in the Convention to encourage breast-feeding, should form an integral part of such a review.

31.The Committee suggests that a review be undertaken of the possible links between school pressures and adolescent health problems in view of the concerns raised on these issues during its discussion of the report. The Committee also suggests that the reasons for suicide among youth and the effectiveness of programmes for the prevention of suicide among children deserve further study.

32.The Committee recommends the incorporation of human rights education, including education about the Convention of the Rights of the Child, as a core curriculum subject in all schools. The Committee notes that this would require that sufficient time be allocated to this subject in the school timetable. The Committee also wishes to suggest that an evaluation of human rights awareness raising and education be undertaken in the future to determine its effectiveness in equipping children with tools for life and in encouraging their decision-making and ability to think analytically from the perspective of human rights. The Committee also wishes to recommend that greater priority be accorded to the participation of children in school life, in the spirit of article 12 of the Convention, including in discussions about disciplinary measures and curricula development. Ways and means of ensuring the fuller implementation of article 31 of the Convention also appear to deserve further study.

33.With regard to the situation of Vietnamese children in detention, the Committee recommends that an evaluation of present and previous policy on this matter be undertaken, to ensure that any errors made are not repeated in the future. The Committee recommends that for the remaining children in detention a solution to their situation must be found in the light of the principles and provisions of the Convention. It is the view of the Committee, therefore, that measures must be taken immediately to ensure a marked improvement in their conditions of detention and that other measures to protect these children in the future must be put in place.

34.The Committee recommends that a review of legislation in relation to the issue of the age of criminal responsibility be undertaken with a view to raising this age in the light of the principles and provisions of the Convention.

35.The Committee recommends wide public distribution and dissemination of the State party report, the summary records of the discussion in the Committee and the present concluding observations.

36.The Committee recommends that the Government prepare a progress report on the measure taken to give effect to the suggestions and recommendations contained in the present concluding observations by the end of May 1997.

跳至內容的開始

border image

個人權利

border image
Content here

聯合國兒童權利委員會

第十三屆會期

審議由締約國根據公約第44條所提交的報告
聯合國兒童權利委員會的審議結論:
大不列顛及北愛爾蘭聯合王國:屬土
香港

1.聯合國兒童權利委員會(以下簡稱「委員會」)在一九九六年十月二及三日舉行的第329及331次會議
席上,審議由大不列顛及北愛爾蘭聯合王國(以下簡稱「英國」):屬土(香港)(CRC/C/11/Add.9)所提交的
第一次報告,並於一九九六年十月十一日舉行的第343次會議上通過以下結論。

目錄

緒言

2.對於上述締約國能依時提交報告及就委員會各項提問給予書面答覆,委員會表示欣賞。委員會亦歡迎該國代表團在介紹聲明所提供的資料,並讚揚他們在與委員會對話時所表現出的合作精神。

3.委員會注意到香港這個地方將面臨一個特殊的情況,就是香港主權將於一九九七年七月一日交還中華人民共和國。委員會得悉,有關公約將如何繼續適用於香港的事宜,包括提交報告的安排,現正由中英兩國政府透過聯合聯絡小組討論。

積極方面


4.委員會獲悉,香港已於一九九三年通過《父母與子女條例》,該條例可消除過去非婚生子女在法律上所受到的不公平待遇。同時,委員會亦歡迎香港通過了旨在促進殘疾人士融入社會的《殘疾歧視條例》。

5.委員會歡迎港府已採取了種種措施,防止因監護人把兒童單獨留在家中而造成危險。

6.資料顯示,社會福利署設立了一條電話熱線,讓市民可以舉報虐待兒童的個案,委員會對此表示欣賞。此外,委員會又注意到,當局已採取措施提高人們對青少年一般健康問題的認識,而衛生署中央健康教育組亦已設立電話熱線服務,解答有關這方面的電話查詢。對於當局招募中學生擔任健康大使,並為他們提供有關一般青少年健康問題的訓練課程的安排,委員會亦甚感興趣。同樣,委員會對於專為照顧6至18歲學童健康需要而新推出的學生健康服務,以及專為促進健康和預防疾病而設立的健康護理及促進基金,也表示熱烈歡迎。

7.委員會很高興知道當局所推行的醫院改善措施,可以使醫院更加切合嬰兒和兒童的需要,其中包括改善院內兒科病房設施、為兒科病房兒童提供遊戲地方,以及提供地方供家長留守照顧住院子女。此外,委員會亦歡迎當局對綜合社會保障援助計劃所作的改善措施,尤其是為落實公約第26及27條而提高受助人可領取的福利。

8.由代表團所提交的資料顯示,若干大學現正接受政府資助,進行五項有關兒童權利的調查計劃,委員會對此表示歡迎。

9.委員會鼓勵當局在香港設立一個獨立機關,處理對警方的投訴。

備受關注的問題10.在公約於一九九四年九月引進香港時,英國政府便進一步就適用於香港的公約提出保留條文。委員會感到遺憾的是,英國仍未決定撤銷其保留條文,其中特別有關兒童工作時數、青少年罪犯的司法審裁安排,以及難民等方面的保留條文,仍然保留。

11.委員會歡迎當局通過《人權法案條例》,但卻注意到人權法案的地位並沒有得到保證。雖然委員會知道法案的條文已確認兩條主要人權公約,而該兩條公約的條文亦適用於兒童,但法案本身並無特別提及《兒童權利公約》,對此委員會感到遺憾。鑑於這個情況,加上港府已採取積極步驟,通過平等機會法例並成立平等機會委員會,因此委員會對於港府沒有採取類似在促進性別平等方面的策略來保障兒童的權利,感到遺憾。關於港府承諾根據公約的原則和條文,定期檢討有關法例和政策一事,委員會關注到港府在檢討過程中,似乎未有充分優先考慮是否可能成立一個有關兒童權利的獨立監察組織,以及採用一個完整而全面的方式去通過保障兒童權利的法例。

12.委員會雖知悉港府已採取積極措施設立各種機制,以執行落實公約條文的政策和計劃,但仍關注到有關政府機構的協調工作,是否足可確保兒童權利獲得優先照顧。

13.委員會關注到港府未採取足夠措施,以確保全面落實公約(特別是第3及12條) 的一般原則,尤其是有關政策措施的選取、制訂和運用等問題上,以促進和保障兒童權利。在這方面,委員會注意到香港仍未有一套制度,讓政府在制訂和決定政策時,可分析有關措施對兒童所構成的影響。同時,委員會亦認為,有關兒童在家庭、學校和社會應擔當的角色這問題上,存在著一些根深蒂固的觀念,可能使公約第12及13條條文在香港獲接受全面實施方面,受到拖慢。

14.至於中國非法入境兒童的處境,以及因中港兩地家庭分離而引致的問題,委員會認為,即使港府將發給這類兒童及其家人的單程通行證配額由105人增至150人,但若按目前中國約有6萬名兒童在一九九七年七月一日後將擁有香港居留權的人數來說,這個配額明顯未能應付需要。

15.雖然港府已有措施應付虐待與疏於照顧兒童,以及涉及兒童意外數字增加的問題,但這些問題仍然備受關注。此外,青少年的精神健康問題,包括青少年自殺問題,亦同樣極受委員會關注。

16.委員會關注到港府鼓勵母乳餵哺的措施明顯不足。委員會知悉醫院仍然免費派發奶粉,供母親餵哺嬰兒,而這做法是與國際指引背道而馳。此外,委員會亦對本地法律條文,特別是有關產假及須養育幼兒的婦女的僱傭條件是否與公約的原則和條文相符的問題,感到關注。

17.委員會認為,港府未有充分重視公約第29條的實施,特別是人權教育科目在學校課程應佔的地位問題。

18.滯港越南船民兒童在羈留中心內所獲的待遇,是委員會深切關注的主要問題。委員會發現,這類兒童一直並會繼續是遏止船民來港政策的受害者。雖然船民問題錯綜複雜,但繼續羈留這類兒童的政策,卻與公約有所抵觸。

19.此外,委員會亦認為,港府將個人須負上刑事責任的年齡定得太低,與公約的原則及條文不符。同時,委員會更對港府決定不把個人須負上刑事責任的年齡提高,表示遺憾。

提議及建議

20.根據照顧「兒童最大利益」的原則,以及各國政府在國際會議上同意照顧「兒童首要需要」的原則(載於世界人權會議所通過的最後文件內),當局在實施公約的原則和條文時,必須優先照顧兒童問題。因此,委員會建議港府在制訂各項政策方案和建議時,須同時評估兒童會受到的影響,讓決策者更能清楚掌握有關政策和建議對兒童權利會造成的影響,從而選取最妥善的政策。此外,委員會亦提議港府應採取步驟,確保其本地法律反映並充分顧及委員會就如何全面貫徹體現兒童權利所作的建議。委員會建議港府應設立一個獨立機制,專門監察有關兒童權利政策的推行情況。同時,委員會指出,獨立機制亦可發揮一個重要的功用,就是讓市民及立法機關知悉當局在保障兒童權利方面所採取的措施。委員會亦建議,在有關香港主權移交問題的磋商之中,應全面包括兒童權利事宜,而且在聯合聯絡小組討論這些問題及其他相關事項時,亦應優先處理兒童權利問題。

21.委員會鼓勵港府致力促使各民間組織和非政府機構更積極參與監察並協助推行公約的工作,包括為香港制訂一套周全的兒童策略。

22.委員會建議港府應就有關兒童權利,特別在虐待兒童方面,進一步評估其現行政策和計劃的協調制度的成效,作為繼續提倡和保護兒童權利的其中部分工作,特別是作為落實公約第4條的措施。此外,委員會亦提議,應以公約第1條的條文作為按年齡組別蒐集和分析統計資料的準則。委員會並提議,港府應考慮進行或鼓勵進行研究計劃,以制訂及使用指標來監察公約各項原則及條文的實施進度。

23.有關港府在加強香港市民對人權和兒童權利的認識而一直作出的努力,委員會建議港府考慮採取進一步的措施,向公眾灌輸《兒童權利公約》的知識,並在專業人士的訓練課程中,加入人權和兒童權利教育。委員會並鼓勵港府在日後的公民意識調查中加入有關問題,以找出市民對公約本身及其原則與條文的認識和瞭解程度。

24.委員會知悉港府已採取多項措施,以加強市民對防止與消除歧視(尤其是對性別與種族的歧視、對殘疾兒童及非婚生子女的歧視等)的認識,提倡互相包容的精神,並建議港府應進一步作出研究,以評估上述措施的成效。

25.在實施公約第12條方面,委員會鼓勵港府應從兒童亦擁有權利的角度出發,就兒童參與家庭、學校和社會生活的問題進行研究,並就這些問題提出建議。

26.委員會建議當局採取進一步措施,以處理從中國來港的非法入境兒童的問題,特別是因中港兩地分離家庭所產生的問題。委員會認為,為了兒童的最大利益,港府應從速採取措施,縮短分離家庭的成員輪候來港與家人團聚的時間和增加單程通行證的配額,並考慮制訂其他措施,應付將來可能產生的問題。

27.委員會再次肯定港府在處理虐待兒童問題上所作出的重大努力。儘管如此,委員會認為,若要防止兒童的權利受到侵犯,必須進一步改變社會人士的態度,使他們不單認識到體罰、身體和心理虐待是不能接受的行為,也更明白應尊重兒童天賦的自尊。

28.雖然受聘處理虐待兒童個案的社會工作者人數近來已有增加,但委員會認為每一名社工所處理的個案數目,可能仍屬偏高,應再研究是否須進一步採取行動,以解決這個問題。委員會鼓勵港府優先處理這方面的工作,並更積極設立日間護理中心,以此作為防止兒童被單獨留在家中的措施之一。此外,委員會又鼓勵採取措施,確保日後就家庭生活教育計劃進行檢討時,須同時評估這項計劃在防止虐待兒童方面的成效。

29.有關改善殘疾兒童情況方面,委員會鼓勵港府盡量安排殘疾兒童入讀正常學校,包括撥款以供改善學校的結構和支援培訓教師的工作,協助他們因應殘疾兒童的需要而調整和修改本身的教學方法。

30.委員會建議港府檢討為推廣和鼓勵餵哺母乳的政策而採取的措施的成效,委員會又建議應把在醫院免費派發嬰兒奶粉,以及僱傭條件是否與公約在鼓勵餵哺母乳方面所訂明的責任有所抵觸的問題,列入檢討範圍內。

31.鑑於委員會在討論時,關注到學校壓力與青少年健康問題可能有關,委員會建議港府就這方面進行檢討。委員會也認為值得再研究青少年自殺的原因和防止兒童自殺計劃的成效。

32.委員會建議當局把人權教育,包括有關《兒童權利公約》的教育列為所有學校的核心課程科目。委員會注意到校方須在學校時間表內撥出足夠時間教授這科目。另外,委員會亦希望建議當局能在將來就人權意識的提高和人權教育進行評估,以確定這些教育對兒童學習處世技能和知識、鼓勵他們以人權觀點來作決定和培養分析思考能力等方面,是否有幫助。委員會又希望建議港府貫徹公約第12條的精神,把兒童參與學校生活,包括參與討論學校紀律方面的措施和課程發展,列為較優先處理的項目。此外,委員會又認為當局似乎亦值得進一步研究,以找出有助確保能更全面地實施公約第31條的方法和途徑。

33.有關被羈留的越南兒童的情況,委員會建議港府應就現行政策和以往的政策進行評估,以確保將來不會再出現同樣的錯失。委員會建議,必須根據公約的原則和條文,就現時仍被羈留的兒童的情況尋求解決辦法。因此,委員會認為須立即採取措施,以確保兒童的羈留情況有顯著改善,並就日後保護兒童的工作,採取其他措施。

34.委員會建議當局根據公約的原則和條文,檢討與須負刑事責任的年齡有關的法例,以期把這個年齡提高。

35.委員會建議當局應廣泛向巿民派發締約國報告、委員會討論事宜的記錄摘要和目前的審議結論,並傳播有關消息。

36.委員會建議港府擬備進度報告,說明於一九九七年五月底前,就實施這份審議結論所載提議及建議而推行的措施。

(本審議結論原以英文擬成,以上僅為中譯參考文本,委員會稍後會提供正式中文本。)