Press Releases

Appointments to Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee announced

    The Government today (September 21) announced the new term of membership to the Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee with effect from October 1.

     The membership of the committee as from October 1, is as follows:

Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, BBS, JP (new appointee)

Ms Virginia Choi Wai-kam

Mr Anthony Chow Wing-kin, SBS, JP (new appointee)

Mr Lo Wing-hung, BBS

Dr Elizabeth Quat

Mr Edwin Tam Kwok-kiu

Dr Yip Chi-kwong (new appointee)

Deputy Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or Principal Assistant Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs

     The committee, which is established under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance, is chaired by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data, Mr Roderick Woo.

     "With their broad spectrum of expertise and wealth of experience, we are confident that the appointed members will provide invaluable advice and support to the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data on protection and promotion of personal data privacy," a government spokesman said.

     The members are appointed for a term of two years, except for Mr Lo Wing-hung who has served on the committee for five years and is re-appointed for a term of one year.

     The appointment notice is gazetted today.

Ends/Friday, September 21, 2007