Press Releases

Appointments to Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council

The Government today (February 28) announced the appointments of the chairman and members of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council. The appointments are for two years from March 1, 2006.

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Victor Fung as the chairman of the Council for the second term. Another 31 members were also appointed. Among them, Dr Edgar Cheng Wai-kin, Mr Ian Fok Chun-wan, Mr Peter Hung Hak-hip, Mr David Lie-A-Cheong Tai-chong, Dr Tai Tak-fung, Mr Peter Wong Tung-shun and Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-tak were new appointees. The curriculum vitae of the new members are at the annex.

A Government spokesman said that since its inception in March 2004, the Council had been helping to reflect the views and suggestions of the Hong Kong business sector about ways to promote co-operation between Hong Kong and Guangdong. They include measures to further facilitate cross-boundary flow of people and cargo and to step up economic and trade co-operation between the two places.

The Council has also launched activities in collaboration with private sector organisations in Guangdong Province. They include means to improve air quality in the Greater Pearl River Delta (GPRD) Region and to encourage Guangdong enterprises to set up business in Hong Kong.

The Council will continue to contribute to Hong Kong/Guangdong co-operation and the future development of the GPRD Region under the chairmanship of Dr Fung and with the efforts of the council members.

The profile of the new members cuts across different sectors. Their immense experience in the business sector will strengthen the Council's work in various aspects.

The Council has been set up to provide a forum for constructive exchange of information and ideas between Hong Kong and Guangdong on how to broaden the scope of economic co-operation between the two places. The Council also complements the government-to-government framework of the Hong Kong/Guangdong Co-operation Joint Conference to foster closer co-operation in the region.

The membership of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council (effective from March 1, 2006) is as follows:

Dr Victor Fung Kwok-king

Members (in alphabetical order)
The Hon Bernard Chan
Mr Felix Chan Kwok-wai
Mr Chan Wing-kee
Dr Edgar Cheng Wai-kin
The Hon Cheng Yiu-tong
Dr The Hon Marvin Cheung Kin-tung
Mr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum
The Hon Mrs Selina Chow Liang Shuk-yee
Mr Chung Po-yang
Mr Sonny Doo
Mr Ian Fok Chun-wan
Mr He Guangbei
Mr Peter Hung Hak-hip
Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing
Mr Raymond Kwok Ping-luen
Mr Frederick Lam Tin-fuk
Dr The Hon Edward Leong Che-hung
The Hon Leung Chun-ying
The Hon Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen
Mr Victor Li Tzar-kuoi
Mr David Lie-A-Cheong Tai-chong
The Hon Victor Lo Chung-wing
Mr Anthony Nightingale
Dr Tai Tak-fung
Mr Tung Chee-chen
Mr Peter Wong Hong-yuen
Mr Peter Wong Tung-shun
Dr Sir Gordon Wu Ying-sheung
Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-tak
Prof Enoch Young Chien-ming
Mr Yu Kwok-chun

Ends/Tuesday, February 28, 2006