Press Releases

Officials, celebrities appeal for voter turnout in DC election

The Secretary for Constitutional Affairs, Mr Stephen Lam; the Secretary for Home Affairs, Dr Patrick Ho and the Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC), Mr Justice Woo Kwok-hing this evening (September 29) called on voters to vote at the coming District Council (DC) election.

At the 2003 DC election kick-off ceremony, Mr Lam said that the DCs had been playing an important role in district administration. "They have made tremendous efforts in improving the environment, in organising cultural and sports activities, and in funding district works programmes," he said.

Mr Lam called on eligible voters to cast their votes on November 23. "Hong Kong is our home. Your votes can make Hong Kong a better place," he added.

The Secretary for Home Affairs, Dr Patrick Ho, said that DCs were an important channel of communication between the Government and the public. "The Administration would enhance co-operation between Government departments and the District Councils so that Government policies would better meet the needs of the public," Dr Ho said.

Dr Ho called on the public to exercise their civic right to vote on polling day, to demonstrate in action their support of district administration.

The Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission, Mr Justice Woo Kwok-hing, said that in the coming DC election, the counting of votes would be done at the polling stations.

"With this new arrangement, election results will be ready quicker than before," Mr Justice Woo said.

The ceremony today kicked off a series of promotional activities for the DC election with a view to calling on voters to cast their votes on November 23. These include Announcements of Public Interests (APIs), election specials on TV and radio, posters on major public transport, election forums, bus parades etc.

Also attending the ceremony were Legislative Council Members the Hon James Tien; the Hon Yeung Sum; the Hon Ng Leung-sing; the Hon Timothy Fok; the Hon Cyd Ho; the chairmen and vice-chairmen of the DCs; the chairmen of DC committees; the Director of Home Affairs, Mrs Pamela Tan; the Director of Information Services, Miss Yvonne Choi and EAC member Mr Leung Nai-pang.

Artistes Ms Nancy Sit, Mr Michael Tse and Miss Toto Mui also lent their support to the cause by appearing at the ceremony and appealing to the public to vote.

End/Monday, September 29, 2003