Press Release

Print Table
Appointment of members of Equal Opportunities Commission

     The Government announced today (April 20) that the Chief Executive has appointed two new members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for a term of two years with effect from May 20, 2018.  

     The newly appointed members are:

Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan
Dr Sigmund Leung Sai-man

     A government spokesperson said, "The new membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women, persons with disability, ethnic minorities, employment, social services, legal, accounting, academics and education, and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be invaluable to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.

     "We would like to take the opportunity to thank Dr Maggie Koong who has served on the EOC for seven years and offered unfailing support to the work of the Commission.
     "We look forward to the concerted efforts of the Chairperson of the EOC and all the members in taking forward the work to promote equal opportunities and eliminate discrimination in the community in accordance with the four existing anti-discrimination ordinances," the spokesman added.

     Brief background information of the newly appointed members is in the Annex.

Ends/Friday, April 20, 2018
Issued at HKT 16:00