Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
Appointment of members to Equal Opportunities Commission

     The Government announced today (May 18) that the Chief Executive has appointed six new members and re-appointed nine incumbent members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for a term of two years with effect from May 20, 2017. Amongst the nine re-appointed incumbent members, Dr Maggie Koong May-kay has been re-appointed for one year with effect from May 20, 2017.

     The newly appointed members are:

Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan
Dr Andy Chiu Man-chung
Mr Mohan Datwani
Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha
Mr Henry Shie Wai-hung
Dr Rizwan Ullah
     The re-appointed members are:

Professor Susanne Choi Yuk-ping
Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Ms Elizabeth Law
Dr Trisha Leahy
Professor Joseph Lee Kok-long
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Miss Yu Chui-yee

     "We are grateful for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting the promotion of equal opportunities. They have also provided valuable input to the various areas of work of the EOC," said a government spokesman.

     "The new membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women, persons with disability, ethnic minorities, employment, social services, legal, accounting, academics and education, and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be invaluable to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.

     "We would like to take the opportunity to thank Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen, Mr Amirali Bakirali Nasir, Mr Zaman Minhas Qamar, Ms Su-mei Thompson, Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man and Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong. They have served on the EOC for four to eight years and offered unfailing support to the work of the Commission.
     "We look forward to the concerted efforts of all the members, under the leadership of the Chairperson, Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming, to take forward the work to promote equal opportunities and eliminate discrimination in the community in accordance with the four existing anti-discrimination ordinances," the spokesman added.

     Brief background information on the newly appointed members is at Annex.

Ends/Thursday, May 18, 2017
Issued at HKT 18:30



Annex: Brief background of the newly appointed members