Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
Appointment of members of Equal Opportunities Commission(with Annex)

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed seven incumbent members and appointed nine new members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for two years, with effect from May 20, 2009, the Government announced today (April 16).

     The re-appointed members are:

Ms Chan Ka-mun, Carmen
Ms Chan Man-ki, Maggie
Professor Randy Chiu
Mrs Chong Wong Chor-sar
Mr Lee Luen-fai
Mr Saeed Uddin
Dr Yeung Law Koon-chui

     The newly appointed members are:

Ms Choi Hing-shi
Ms Chiu Lai-kuen, Susanna
Mr Fung Kin-kee, Frederick
Mr Lui Tim-leung, Tim
Mr Amirali Bakirali Nasir
Ms Ng Wing-mui, Winnie
Dr Tse Wing-ling, John
Mr Tse Wai-chun, Paul
Ms Wong Ka-ling, Garling

     Their brief backgrounds are at Annex.

     "We would like to express our gratitude for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. Their devotion and contribution to the various areas of work of the EOC and their enthusiasm for the promotion of equal opportunities are commendable,” the Government spokesman said.

     "The new EOC board represents a fairly balanced mix of expertise and representatives of various sectors, including the interests of women, persons with disability, ethnic minorities, employment, social services sector, legal professionals, accounting professionals, academics and the community at large.

      "The EOC is tasked as the enforcement authority under the Race Discrimination Ordinance.  With the upcoming full implementation, we look forward to the concerted efforts of all re-appointed and new members, under the leadership of the Chairperson, Mr Raymond Tang, to take forward the work to promote equal opportunities and eliminate discrimination on the grounds of sex, marital status, pregnancy, race, disability and family status,” the spokesman added.

     The appointment notice will be gazetted on April 17, 2009.

Ends/Thursday, April 16, 2009