Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
New member of Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee appointed

     The Government today (September 26) announced the appointment of Mr Siu Sai-wo to the Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee for a term of one year with effect from October 1, 2008.

      "With the appointment of Mr Siu, we are able to maintain a good mix of expertise in the committee.  Given the wealth of experience of committee members, we are confident that the committee will be able to provide valuable advice to the Privacy Commissioner on matters relevant to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance," a government spokesman said.

     The committee, established under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance, is chaired by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data, Mr Roderick Woo.

     The appointment notice is gazetted today.

     Membership of the committee as from October 1 is as follows:

Mr Roderick Woo Bun

Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun
Ms Virginia Choi Wai-kam
Mr Anthony Chow Wing-kin
Dr Elizabeth Quat
Mr Siu Sai-wo
Mr Edwin Tam Kwok-kiu
Dr Yip Chi-kwong
Deputy Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or Principal Assistant Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs

Ends/Friday, September 26, 2008