Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
Appointments to Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council

     The Government today (February 28) announced the appointment of the chairman and members of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council for a period of two years with effect from March 1, 2008.

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Victor Fung as the chairman of the Council.  Another 31 members were also appointed.  Among them, Mr Ignatius Chan Tze-ching, Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen, Prof the Hon Anthony Cheung Bing-leung, Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung, Dr Allan Wong Chi-yun, Mr Anthony Wu Ting-yuk and Mr Paul Yin Tek-shing are new appointees.

     Members come from a wide spectrum of sectors, including chambers of commerce, banking, shipping, textiles, accounting, legal, technology, real estate, manufacturing, logistics, environmental and education communities.  Their rich experience in the business sector and extensive knowledge of Hong Kong and Guangdong cooperation will strengthen the Council’s work in promoting economic cooperation between the two places.

     The Council was set up on March 1, 2004 to provide a forum for constructive exchange of information and ideas between the business sectors in Hong Kong and Guangdong on how to broaden the scope of economic cooperation between the two places.  The Council also complements the government-to-government framework of the Hong Kong/Guangdong Cooperation Joint Conference to foster closer cooperation in the region.

     The membership of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council (effective from March 1, 2008) is as follow:

Dr Victor Fung Kwok-king

Members (in alphabetical order)

Hon Bernard Chan
Mr Felix Chan Kwok-wai
Mr Ignatius Chan Tze-ching
Mr Chan Wing-kee
Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen
Hon Cheng Yiu-tong
Professor the Hon Anthony Cheung Bing-leung
Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum
Hon Mrs Selina Chow Liang Shuk-yee
Mr Chung Po-yang
Mr Sonny Doo
Mr Ian Fok Chun-wan
Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung
Mr Peter Hung Hak-hip
Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing
Mr Raymond Kwok Ping-luen
Mr Frederick Lam Tin-fuk
Hon Leung Chun-ying
Hon Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen
Mr Victor Li Tzar-kuoi
Mr David Lie-A-Cheong Tai-chong
Mr Anthony Nightingale
Dr Tai Tak-fung
Mr Tung Chee-chen
Dr Allan Wong Chi-yun
Mr Peter Wong Hong-yuen
Mr Peter Wong Tung-shun
Mr Anthony Wu Ting-yuk
Ms Yang Mun-tak, Marjorie
Mr Paul Yin Tek-shing
Mr Yu Kwok-chun

ENDS/Thursday, February 28, 2008