Jump to the beginning of content

border image

Press Releases

border image
Delegation visits Fujian on Pan-PRD co-operation

A team of government officials from the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), led by Deputy Secretary for Constitutional Affairs Ms Grace Lui, today (March 7) left on a four-day visit to Fujian Province.

The purpose of the visit is to enhance understanding of the province and foster closer working relations and communication between the two governments, with a view to enhancing co-operation in the Pan-Pearl River Delta (PPRD) region.

This is the fourth visit made by the HKSAR Government to the PPRD region. The first three visits (to Hainan, Jiangxi and Sichuan provinces) took place from December 2004 to February 2005.

The PPRD region includes nine provinces in the Mainland - Fujian, Jiangxi, Hunan, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Sichuan, Guizhou and Yunnan - and Hong Kong and Macao SARs.

The delegation comprises representatives from the Constitutional Affairs Bureau, Highways Department, Trade and Industry Department, Labour Department, Planning Department, Intellectual Property Department and the Office of the Government of the HKSAR in Beijing. Also joining the visit is a representative from the Hong Kong Trade Development Council.